Tuition and Fees

Tuition Rates (per credit hour)

In-State Students $147
KCTCS Out-Of-State On-Line Students $147
Out-of-State Reciprocity Students $147
Out-of-State Students: From Contiguous Counties* $294
Out-of-State Students: Other Out-of-State Students $515
Mandatory Fee** (all students): $8 per credit hour

*Contiguous counties are those which border Kentucky. Tuition is charged for each credit hour enrolled.
** KCTCS BuildSmart Investment for Kentucky Competitiveness fee.

Tuition and charges are determined by the Kentucky Community and Technical College System Board of Regents. For payment deadlines, refer to the college academic calendar.


  • There are 12 counties in Indiana with reciprocity: 
    • Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Floyd, Harrison, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Ripley, Scott, Switzerland, and Washington.
  • Students in these Ohio counties pay in-state rates: 
    • Adams, Brown, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton, Highland, and Warren
    • Students in the Associate Degree Nursing program are excluded and must pay contiguous or out of state rate.
  • The contiguous counties border the reciprocity counties.
Payments are automatically deducted from a bank account or credit card.

Tuition is based on a per credit hour rate, including courses that are audited.


  • Enrolled:  October 1st - January 8th:  Payment Due January 8th
  • Enrolled:  January 9th - January 10th:  Payment Due January 10th
  • Drop/Add/Reinstatement:  Payment Due January 17th

Tuition can be paid by the following methods:

  • ONLINE Credit Card or Check
    • MasterCard, Visa, or Discover or electronic check for full amount only may be made online by accessing your student self-service at
    • Should be made in person at the Bursar’s office on the Downtown, Southwest, Technical, or Shelby Campus. Cashiering services are not available at Bullitt or Carrollton. 
    • Payments must include student ID number and daytime phone number.
    • Mailed payments must be postmarked by January 1, 2016 and addressed to:   
      Jefferson Community and Technical College
      Bursars Office
      109 E. Broadway
      Louisville KY 40202


  • Financial Aid recipients must verify, through self-service message center EBILL, sufficient anticipated aid to cover all tuition and charges as of payment deadline.  Most financial aid is prorated based on hours enrolled.  Loans require 6 hours min.
  • If your tuition is paid by an employer, Voc Rehab, scholarship, or other third party, you must confirm this with appropriate documentation by the payment deadline.  All documentation must be submitted to Bursar’s office.
  • Metropolitan College students must sign current term contract by payment deadline.
  • Charges not covered by one of these payment sources must be paid by payment deadline.


  • The agreement and down payment (if required) must be completed and submitted on-line through the student self service prior to payment deadline.
  • The number of payments and amount of down payment vary, depending on when the agreement is submitted.
  • The cost to participate in the plan is $25.00.
  • Payments are automatically deducted from a bank account or credit card.
  • For complete details: Payment Plan


 Residency  Cost Per Credit Hour
In-State $147.00
 Contiguous Counties
 Out-Of-State  $515.00


  • Mandatory Student Fee of $8.00 per credit hour is assessed to all students in support of the KCTCS Build Smart Investment Initiative.
  • Security Charge of $40 is assessed to all JCTC students every term, regardless of number of hours enrolled. The fee is used to offset the costs of security in all college facilities, including security personnel, equipment, and lighting.
  • Late Payment Charge of $75.00 is assessed to all accounts not paid by the published payment deadline.
  • Reinstatement Charge of $75.00 will be assessed to any student who requests reinstatement if removed from classes due to non-payment.  
  • Facility Usage Charge of $25.00 per course is assessed to all students who enroll in a KHP course to help pay the cost of access to the YMCA or other facility.
  • ALL Fees/Charges are non–refundable


Once you enroll you become financially obligated. If you do not plan to attend class, you must officially withdraw.

The official refund schedule is published in the academic calendar.

Activate and check your KCTCS student email account. All college correspondence, including bills, will be sent to your student email account.

Parking permits are valid for one academic year and are available in the bursar's office. You will be issued one per academic year. Replacement cost if lost is $10.

Update your address information in the Student Information Center or online at your student self serve.


For assistance, please call 855-246-5282 (855-2GO-JCTC) or visit our Student Service Center online.